Adults can now borrow a State Parks Pass Kit from the Garfield County Libraries to take on adventures and use for up to 7 days!
In order to borrow a kit, you must first reserve one by clicking on one of the library branch buttons below and selecting the date you want to pick it up.
There are terms and limitations so please read the FAQs.
These State Parks Pass Kits are the result of our partnership with the Colorado Department of Education, State Library, and Colorado Parks and Wildlife. We are excited to be able to help Coloradans to visit our State Parks and experience all of the great outdoor recreation that this state has to offer.
Guidelines for Borrowing and Use
You must be an adult with a full-access library card in good standing.
You are limited to checking out 1 kit at a time.
You have 7 days to use the kit, after which you may make another reservation if there is not a wait list for the kit.
Up to 2 reservations will be allowed per 30 days.
Frequently Asked Questions
How do I borrow a State Parks Pass Kit?
To borrow a kit, you must make a reservation on the library website. Reservations must be made at least 24 hours in advance, and can be up to 3 months in advance. Only one pass kit at a time can be reserved, but you can have up to 2 reservations per 30 days.
After staff reviews the reservation request, make plans to pick up your kit within 24 hours of your reservation date. Your reservation will expire after that period.
Watch a quick video walking you through the reservation process:
What is included in the kit?
• Colorado State Parks Pass (good at all 42 Colorado State Parks)
• Brochures (about wildlife, wildflowers, State Parks, etc.)
How long can I have with the kit?
These kits check out for 7 days. If you need more time, you can make another reservation in the system, however, you may be required to reserve a different kit.
Are there any fines and fees for the kits?
There are no late fees for the kits. However, if a kit is not brought back within 10 days of the due date, the library will consider the device lost and/or stolen. The borrower will be charged for the replacement cost of $150. The library may report the failure to return to the appropriate law enforcement authorities and/or a collections agency.
Contact the library regarding misplaced or damaged accessories.
What are my responsibilities when I check out a kit?
The borrower will not lend the kit to other persons and shall exercise care to assure the contents are not lost or stolen. Borrowers must follow all Colorado Parks & Wildlife rules while at state parks, and must pay any overnight camping and/or fishing license fees if those activities are desired.
Should I fill out the survey in the kit?
Please do! Feedback from your evaluation helps continue the partnership between Colorado Parks & Wildlife and the Colorado State Library and keeps the Check Out State Parks program going for another year.
How do I return a kit?
The kit should be returned to a staff person at the circulation desk of the library from which you borrowed it. Kits cannot be returned in the library book drops.
Please check to make sure the State Parks Pass and all accessories are in the bag.
Why might a reservation request for a kit be denied?
Reasons for denying a reservation request may include, but are not limited to:
• Borrower's library account is not current and/or in good standing
• Lack of satisfactory ID upon pick up of the device
• Prior violations of the State Parks Pass Kit borrowing and returning requirements by the borrower
• Prior violations of other library policies